JAIN (Deemed-to-be University) News

INSPIRO - 2016, a state level inter-collegiate Science fest was conducted at the School of Graduate Studies, Jain (Deemed-to-be University)

“INSPIRO” – a one-day state level inter-collegiate fest – was organized by the Science Forum of School of Graduate Studies on 10th August 2016. All the departments coming under the umbrella of science forum together contributed to the smooth conduction of the fest. The fest comprised of seven events namely "VMake" and "Big Bang" from the Department of Physical sciences, "Collage" and "What's on your arms" from the Department of Life Sciences, "Citizen X" and "Catch Me if You Can" from the Department of Forensic Science and "Chemicovick" from the Department of Chemistry. The event was co-sponsored by Syndicate Bank.

The registration was opened to the participants at 9am at the day of the event. Around 110 teams from various educational institutions across the state (40 teams from outside colleges/Universities and 70 in-house teams) had been registered and participated for various events. The inauguration of the event was held at 10.30 am and was marked by the lighting of the lamp by Dr. Asha Rajiv, Director, SGS and HOD's of the four organizing departments. This was followed by a pleasant welcome address delivered by Dr. Asha Rajiv, Director, SGS. Mr. Sundar M N, Co-convener of Inspiro-2016, explained the schedule of the events for the participants, soon after which, the participants were directed to their respective event venues.

The events went on till 2pm and was judged by Professors from various external colleges/institutions. The winners of various events were announced in the valedictory function held in the conference hall at 3pm. The prize distribution was done by the Director and HOD's of various departments of SGS. The prizes of the events were bagged by Jyothi Nivas College, Bangalore, Jain (Deemed-to-be University), J.C. Road, Jain (Deemed-to-be University), Kolar, Mount Carmel College, Bangalore, ABBS (Bangalore), Kristu Jayanthi College, Bangalore, Krupanidhi College, Bangalore and National College, Bangalore. The Rolling Trophy for the college with maximum points was won by Jyothi Nivas College, Bangalore. Volunteer certificates as well as the core committee team certificates was awarded to the student volunteers and the faculties in the core committee of Inspiro during the function. The fest ended with the vote of thanks delivered by the Ms. Anu N Mohan, Convener, Inspiro - 2016.

As part of the event, refreshments were arranged for all the faculties, non-teaching staff and the participants.

Core Committee Members:

  • Ms. Anu N Mohan, Department of Physics (Convener)
  • Mr. Sundar M N, Department of Physics (Co-convener)
  • Ms. Divya, Department of Chemistry
  • Mr. Akhil Benny, Department of Forensic Science
  • Mr. Ashok D, Department of Life Sciences
  • Ms. Renuka Jyothis, Department of Life Sciences
  • Mr. J V Ramanraju, Department of Mathematics
  • Mr. Anand Y N, Department of Computer Science